10 Ways To Boost Your Immune System

Having a hectic life can affect your immune system, especially during winter.

Here is a list of my top 10 tricks for an instant immune system boost. This can help both travelers and people staying at home.

1. Ginger Shot

In the morning, before I eat anything, I peel a piece of ginger – half the size of my thumb. Ginger is known to soothe the stomach, but you have to be careful not to overdo it. In order to avoid taking any chances of harming my stomach, I combine it with ¼ of a peeled apple. I then add a little bit of hot water and throw them in the blender. I strain the juice and drink it. You can also drink the juice with the pulp, but I must warn you, it is very spicey and might cause stomach pain. Some restaurants have it on their menu. If not, try simply asking the waiter for a ginger shot and he might be so kind as to bring you one. Ginger is known to have antibacterial and antiviral properties, among others. Phytochemical antioxidants are immune-boosting and can be found in apples. Also, the good news for the ladies is that the apple is known to help with weight loss. 

2. Citrus Fruit 

During the day I recommend you to drink fresh citrus juice. The more fruits, the better. You can choose from grapefruit, oranges, clementines, tangerines, lemons, and lime. Vitamin C is known for increasing the production of white blood cells. The heroes that fight infections. Because the human body does not produce or store it, we need a daily intake of vitamin C. You can also try to squeeze any of the above in your meals. What I do, is take a spoon of lemon juice in the morning, or cook shrimp with citrus dressing. I will share my recipe in the following post.

3. Sea Buckthorn Powder

You can take this baby anywhere with you. Buy a small bag and carry it around the world. It will, without a doubt, come in handy. This powder is basically ready to be taken anywhere. You can add it to your juice, soup or any meal. What I do, is boil some water, add the powder, then leave a bag of chamomile tea to infuse. You can also add ginger and lemon to it and you get the perfect combo. 

4. Cayenne Pepper

This is my favorite spice of all time. I basically add it to anything I cook. If you want a more intense effect, you can add a spoon of cayenne pepper, half a spoon of maple syrup and one whole lemon to a glass of warm water, then drink it. You will instantly feel your blood pumping through your veins.

5. Immune-Boosting Omelette

Start the morning with a delicious and healthy breakfast. Egg yolks contain a lot of Vitamin D. Add avocado (Vitamin C, E, K, and B-6), bell pepper (Vitamin A and C), tomatoes (Vitamin C), spinach (Vitamin E, B6, and C) or broccoli (Vitamin A, C, E, K). Or even better, add all of them. Get creative with your meal and do not forget that you can add cayenne pepper to it. 

6. Fermented Foods

We all know how essential yogurt is to our diet. But, I for one am dairy-free. Are you also dairy-free? No worries! There are various brands that produce lactose-free, plant-based yogurt. The one I frequently buy is Alpro Soya Vanilla Yogurt. Of course, there are many brands to chose from. What I do is add blueberries to it, for the health benefits of flavonoids.

Even if you are not a fan of this option, you can still get probiotics from other fermented foods like sauerkraut and kombucha.  

7. Replace Coffee for Tea

Coffee can inhibit the absorption of calcium, iron, magnesium, and B-vitamins. It is recommended to limit your consumption as much as possible. I am a huge coffee lover, so it is very hard for me to quit drinking it altogether. What I started doing instead, is having cleansing breaks. Sometimes I do them during the week, which means I drink every other day coffee, other times I take a longer break. The longest I have managed to go without drinking coffee was 3 months and I must say I was feeling amazing. Try this when you feel under the weather and hydrate yourself as much as possible.

8. Mushrooms

Medicinal mushrooms, such as shiitake and maitake, will boost your immune system. I love Asian food, so every time I get the chance, I have a mushroom soup from the nearest Asian restaurant I find. They are also pretty easy to cook at home. A recent study showed that a concentrated extract of shiitake enhanced immune function in women with breast cancer. 

9. Raw Garlic

I am sure many of you cook with garlic, not just because it has amazing health benefits but also because it tastes delicious. What most people don’t know, is that heat deactivates a key active ingredient, so when you want to use it only for the health benefits, eat it raw. I enjoy grating it on top of most of my meals, like for example spinach. When I was younger, my mom used to make me warm bread with butter and garlic. It was the best. Give it a try.

10. Quit Smoking And Drinking Alcohol

It undermines basic immune defenses and raises the risk of bronchitis and pneumonia in everyone. If you drink alcohol, do it only in moderation. 


Other Helpful Tips:

  • Bone broth soup.
  • Eat a diet high in fruits and vegetables.
  • Exercise regularly.
  • Maintain a healthy weight.
  • Get adequate sleep.
  • Avoid infection by washing your hands frequently and cooking meats thoroughly.
  • Try to minimize stress.

Thank you for reading, I hope it was useful and I wish you an amazing experience!
Don’t forget to follow me and share with your friends.
Lots of health, Reea.
Instagram: reea.ha

Publicat de followreea

About me and my blog: Hi! I am an architect who decided to design her own life instead of just buildings. I have always tried to live a balanced life. I am passionate about traveling, cooking and fitness. I have always had a rebellious side that pushed me to be free and wild. I am an explorer because of my curious nature. In this blog I will be sharing my experiences and lifestyle with you. I hope you will enjoy the stories and I hope the tips will be helpful.

2 gânduri despre „10 Ways To Boost Your Immune System

Lasă un comentariu